Export and Import Playbooks and More

Import/Export is a great way to quickly share assets between workspaces. The Export dialog lets you choose any of your PRO Playbooks, Reify Configurations, Data Feeds and Sources, Collections, or Ontologies.

All of the different types of assets that can be exported are all chosen through the same dialog, and that dialog can be accessed by choosing Export from the File menu

When the Export dialog opens you will see all of the types available to export. Place a check mark next to the items you wish to export, click Browse to choose a file name and path for your file, and click OK to save the export file to your hard drive.

DarkLight will automatically look inside some items and check to see if they rely on any other items. If it does, those items will automatically be checked for you. If you do not want to export those, you can manually uncheck those related items before exporting.

To import an exported DarkLight file, choose Import from the File menu. Use the dialog that opens to navigate to your file and select it.

Conflicts with Existing Assets

DarkLight will check the contents of the file and compare it against your current workspace. If it finds a conflict, a dialog will appear letting you know which assets you already have. You can either choose to overwrite your existing assets, or cancel the import and rename or otherwise change your workspace before starting the import process again.

An important note is that each asset item that is imported has a unique ID that is independent of the label you see and can rename in the interface. For importing, this means that you cannot simply rename a playbook to prevent it from being overwritten by an import of an earlier version of that playbook. The current workaround for playbooks is to drag a box around all of the steps in the playbook and use the copy/paste step functionality to create a new version of the existing playbook.

Also note that since Collections are in RDF Graph form, importing a collection over an existing collection will merge the items together. If your intent is to replace a collection, you will need to delete the existing collection first, then perform the import.

  • help/pro_sharing
  • Last modified: 2019/06/18 19:02